The Big Pink

The Big PinkThe Big Pink’s debut album ‘A Brief History Of Love’ has been on heavy rotation since it arrived in the CMU office. Consisting of Robbie Furze and Milo Cordell, who for several years separately made and promoted noise at various levels of extremity, they are joined live by a revolving line-up of musicians, which currently features Akiko Matsuura (who also fronts two more of CMU’s favourite bands, Pre and Comanechi) and former Sunn O))) member Daniel O’Sullivan. But, yes, the album. Very much an extension of their noise-based past, Furze and Cordell have switched off the much of the distortion that would once have pervaded everything, leaving melody and even pop sensibilities exposed. This is nonetheless filled out with swirling, room-filling guitars which up the epicness and help to both mask and enhance layers that can only be uncovered with repeat listens. The album is out on 14 Sep, in the meantime, check out next single ‘Dominos’ and second track ‘Velvet’ on their MySpace page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.