With less than a month to go, we’re now well into the run-up to this year’s South By Southwest festival. The extensive list of this year’s showcasing artists is now up on the SXSW website, with MP3s available for many. Take careful note, a number of these bands will be huge this time next year. Here are a few treats to get you started:

Capgun Coup
Death Sentence: Panda!
Does It Offend You, Yeah?
The Duke Spirit
Fuck Buttons
Fucked Up
The Indelicates
The Ironweed Project
I Was A Cub Scout
Lykke Li
The People’s Revolutionary Choir
Shit And Shine
These New Puritans
Saul Williams

Click here for the full list.

As every year, I will be spending this year’s SXSW week in the UK, pretending I don’t care. This won’t be helped by all the emails I’ll get saying “Hey, let’s meet up at SXSW!” Lucky, Flight of the Conchords made this informative and amusing documentary last year that captures at least some of what we’re missing out on:

Flight of the Conchords – A Texan Odyssey
Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.